Hey Madeleine-ah!

Freshly Baked Madeleines

There is nothing to beat a freshly baked Madeleine – light, golden, lemony loveliness.

These beauties are so easy to make – all you need is 100g butter (non-salted preferably, melted and allowed to cool for about 10 minutes),100g caster sugar, 2 (free-range) eggs, a lemon, 100g plain flour and 3/4 tsp baking powder – oh, and a Madeleine tin. (See below for Method)

Now you will have gathered that I am a great fan of silicone bakeware, so when I saw Michel Roux showing Mary Berry how to make Madeleines, I thought I would have to try making them, and ordered a silicone tray from Ebay.

It arrived, and looked, well blue mostly.

Silicon madeleine tinHowever, before I had a chance to try it, happened to be in TK Maxx, and spotted a lovely non-stick metal tray and it seemed rude not to, so I bought it too.

Metal Mad tinAs you can see, once washed, I lightly sprayed the tray with Frylight (spray oil) – melted butter would alos be fine, and, dusted half the moulds with flour.
Let the experiment begin.

Method:

Preheat the oven to  200C/400F/Gas 6

Beat the caster Sugar with the eggs til light and foamy, add the juice and zest of a lemon, the melted butter and sift in plain flour and baking powder – whisk to a smooth batter, and then leave for 20 mins or so.

Distribute the mixture evenly between the oiled moulds, and bake for 8-10mins, until golden brown, allow to cool slightly and then eat them all up!

Now I made a double batch of mix, and using the metal and silicon tins simultaneously,  I was surprised to see the difference in appearance of the end result.

Silicon MadsMetal Mads

So, for perfect Madeleines – it’s going to have to be the metal tin everytime. Interestingly, with a good non-stick tray, there didn’t seem to be any advantage to flouring the tray, in fact, I probably wouldn’t bother.

Then, because I loved them so much, I decided to experiment  and using this recipe, made some Chocolate Orange Madeleines .

100g golden (or ordinary) caster Sugar, 2 medium (free range) eggs , 100g melted butter, the juice and zest of an orange, and sift in 75g plain flour, 25g cocoa and 3/4 teaspoon of baking powder. These could be dipped in some melted chocolate too, if you were feeling extra indulgent.

choccy mads

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Hey Madeleine-ah!

  1. bytherecipe February 22, 2013 at 1:06 am Reply

    I have gotten rid of any silicon bakeware I had purchased. No matter the recipe, it never turns out as good or nice looking with as with a tradition pan. Have always wanted to try Madeleines. Well be on the lookout for a pan!

  2. mydearbakes February 22, 2013 at 7:35 am Reply

    What a great post! This looks so lovely! =)

  3. bakingaddict February 28, 2013 at 12:15 am Reply

    I have a metal madeleine tray which I love as it works so well each time. I have wondered about silicone ones so I’m glad you did the experiment – I’ll definitely stick to my metal one for now. I made some English Madeleines recently – I still prefer the french ones mainly because I don’t like coconut but also because these are so cute! Love the chocolate and orange combo too.

Leave a Reply

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

The Boozy Rouge

A love letter to food and south east London

Food Fun and Frolics

Just another WordPress.com site

gingersiren's Blog

Life, love & living with Grave's Disease

Bacon on the beech

Baking, blogging, being - in Manchester.

WRITER'S BLOG

Annette J. Dunlea Irish Writer

blogicalbakes

Baking, blogging, being - in Manchester.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

